Report to the Standards Committee

Date of meetir	ng: 2 October 2	2012
Report of:	Monitoring Officer	
Subject:	Parish/Town Council Arrangements	
Officer Contact for further information:		lan Willett (01992 564143)
Democratic Services Officer:		Graham Lunnun (01992 564244)

The Committee will know that having a Standards Committee is now optional for District and Town/Parish Councils. However, all Councils must adopt a Code of Conduct and a Complaints Procedure. These can however be of local choice subject to statutory elements being incorporated.

Standards Committee

It has been proposed that a Joint Standards Committee should be established and this proposal has been submitted to all 24 Parish and Town Councils to establish whether they wish to affiliate. A copy of the constitution of the Joint Committee is attached. Each Council was asked to consider the other options of not having a Standards Committee at all or affiliating to the District Council's Standards Committee.

Set out below is a summary of the current position:

Wishing to affiliate to EFDC's Standards Committee:

Chigwell, Epping Upland (subject to review after 1 year), Matching, Roydon, Sheering, Willingale (6).

Wishing to affiliate to the Joint Standards Committee for Parish & Town Councils:

Buckhurst Hill, Epping Town, Lambourne, Loughton Town, Moreton, Bobbingworth & The Lavers, Nazeing, North Weald Bassett, Ongar Town, Stanford Rivers, Stapleford Abbotts, Theydon Bois (11).

Not wishing to affiliate to any Standards Committee: High Ongar, Theydon Mount (2)

Code of Conduct/Complaints Procedure

As a number of different draft codes became available from the relevant government department, the National Association of Local Councils (NALC) and from the Public Law Partnership for this region. The latter was advocated by the Monitoring Officer and Deputy and has gained general acceptance as set out below:

Adopted the Public Law Partnership Code/Complaints Procedure (PLP):

Buckhurst Hill, Chigwell, Epping Town, Epping Upland, Lambourne, Loughton Town, Matching, Moreton, Bobbingworth & The Lavers, Nazeing, North Weald Bassett, Ongar Town, Roydon, Sheering, Stanford Rivers, Stapleford Abbotts, Theydon Bois, Willingale. (17)

Adopted the National Association of Local Councils (NALC) Code and Own Complaints Procedure: High Ongar (1) Using Own Code and Complaints Procedure: Theydon Mount (1)